Announcing the WITS ‘Wild’ Contest Winners!

This winter, WITS invited students in grades K-12, participants in our partner public schools throughout the Puget Sound region and at Seattle Children’s Hospital, to submit an original piece of writing inspired by the theme of “wild” and Cheryl Strayed’s book of the same title.

After reading submissions of poetry, essays and stories that considered ideas of wildness varying widely, from trips to the zoo to ruminations on the Seattle Seahawks, WITS is pleased to announce sixth grade student Lily Williams’s poem “Them” as the contest winner. This year, Lily worked with WITS Writer-in-Residence Rachel Kessler, at Washington Middle School. The contest judges were moved by the poem’s vivid portrayal of a sense of inner wildness.  Lily read her poem with confidence and poise, to a sold out crowd of hundreds last Thursday night, before Cheryl Strayed took the stage.

We are also happy to announce our honorable mentions in the contest.

WITS ‘Wild’ Contest Winner:
Lily Williams, Sixth Grade, Washington Middle School

1st Runner Up:
“Joy” by Abigail Peterson, Second Grade, Cascade K-8 Community School

Finalists:
“In the Cage” by Lauren Allen, Sixth Grade, McClure Middle School
“Wild” by Maya Dow, Fifth Grade, Blue Heron School
“Never Say Never in my Wildest Dreams” by Sam Kuo, Third Grade, Cascade K-8 Community School
“Wild” by Isaac Rosen, Third Grade, View Ridge Elementary School

Congratulations to all of the winners of the ‘Wild’ contest, whose work follows below. Thank you to all of the students who submitted their writing!

Them
By Lily Williams
Sixth Grade, Washington Middle School

they feed off insecurities
they plant poison thoughts
in pure minds
disturbed

they bark commands
and if you don’t follow them
you’re banished to no-mans-land
filled with undesired loners

toxicity in the smog
air-born sickness
killing everything left
without a gas mask

dead

we feel inferior
to ideas they
promote the ones they
say is normal

but nothing’s truly
normal
you can’t define me
i’m definitionless

to them i’m a
disease a mistake
if i was ‘raised right’
i wouldn’t be this way

different

i watch everybody
around me wither away
slowly burning from
acid they’ve spilled

the ropes pulling
tightly at necks
the triggers stiff against

cold fingers

dead eyes wander
aimlessly through
a sea of lies that we
call life a crazy life

anarchy

and the gunshots
they sound the music
of war the weapons
pulled icy blood frozen

swords drawn they shine
in grey-silver moonlight
giving the illusion of safety
no one’s really okay

they call me a rebel
i’m just a raging flame
and all they want to do is
reduce me to ash

i am wild

Joy
By Abigail Peterson
Second Grade, Cascade K-8 Community School

The creek gurgles
in the morning air,
the flowers wake up
in the earth.
It is part of a great dance,
never ceasing the steps.
They dance with joy,
and reverse the steps
to find even more happiness.
The humans come to join them.
They dance that way till dusk,
but then the dance becomes
even wilder
with mystery.

In the Cage
By Lauren Allen
Sixth Grade, McClure Middle School

I remember when it jumped. It flew towards us, its claws like hooks, ready to latch on.

It was a typical summer day in Beijing, China: very hot, dry and sunny. We had just moved there from Washington DC. We decided to tour as much as possible, to get to know the city. My family and I love safaris, so we decided to go to the Wilderness Park (still in Beijing) and go on one there. When it was finally our turn after waiting in line, my three younger siblings, my mom and I, 8 years old at the time, were loaded into the back of a large pickup truck with a dozen or so other Chinese people. There was a wire cage surrounding the outsides of the truck. I guess you could say that we were ‘caged in.’ We started the safari by going through gates and high walls that divided one animal species from another. We would go through the lion section, stare at the lions (still moving the whole time) and then go on to the monkeys. I was only a little bit nervous at first as to what would happen if the animals got up and came toward us. The whole time, the tour guide, who would talk on about the animals in full-on Chinese, would occasionally remind us in English to, “Keep your hands inside the cage at all times.”

After a while, we started to get hot, tired and bored all at the same time, like businessmen sitting in a non-air conditioned room, listening to a long conference in a whole other language!

“Is this almost over?” we kept whining, and I’m not sure if we kept our voices down (oops!).

The reply would always be from our mom, saying, “I don’t know. It will be over when it is over.” That drove us crazy.

After visiting a couple more animals, the tour guide handed out carrots, probably to feed the next animal. That was new. Other staff seemed to come out of nowhere, starting to hang up raw chicken on hooks on the outside of the cage. What could be going on? I wondered. A couple of seconds later, we found ourselves with the bears.

….

At first, the bears were doing nothing special, like all the other animals. Soon though, a bear got up and started to clamber toward us. And then…

…it jumped. Its claws hung onto the wire cage. I had never seen a black bear, well, any bear for that matter, and so close up! I could see the huge teeth like pointed knives, the yellow eyes with a haunted glow, the brown snout, the sharp claws and the massive body. He was as black as coal. What’s happening!? I asked myself, starting to panic. The bear started to rip at the raw chicken with its teeth. Some people jeered and yelled but mostly people plain freaked out. My brother, sisters and I huddled around my mom while more bears came to join the first one, ripping and eating the chickens. Nobody even thought about feeding them the carrots!

One thousand thoughts raced through my head at the same time. What happens if the bears rip through the cage? Those teeth are so big and sharp! We must end up fine though because this is not the first time this safari has taken place, right?! Mommy looks a little scared though too. The craziness went on like that. Now that I look back, I realize that anything could have happened or gone wrong!

Finally, when the bears had eaten all of the raw chicken to the bone (literally), we moved on. Everything died down as we slowly uncoiled. When the safari was completely over, my mom said, “What an adventure!” We certainly agreed.

It was a big, scary and exciting event to that young, eight-year-old me. I will never forget my amazing adventure I had that day.

Wild
By Maya Dow
Fifth Grade, Blue Heron School

In memory of the underground railroad, and all who where brave enough to go on its long journey.

Feet slapping,
heart pounding,
running,
running,
green forest
disappears around me
I am wild.
I am free.

Heat burning,
sight blurring,
I am invisible
to all eyes.
running,
running,
never tiring
I am wild.
I am free.

No more working.
No more hardships,
I know
everything and
nothing.
running,
running,
I am wild.
I am free.
I do not know
who I am or
where I am.
legs pumping,
running,
running.
I am wild.
I am free.

Throat rasping,
breath gasping.
I ignore my
jumping stomach.
I am wild.
I am free.
I am wild.
I am free.

Never Say Never in my Wildest Dreams
By Sam Kuo
Third Grade, Cascade K-8 Community School

When people say, “never in my wildest dreams,” it is supposed to mean something really cool happened that they didn’t dream they could do. I think that is a sad thing because it means they don’t believe enough in themselves and have big, wild dreams.

Russell Wilson had a wild dream to be a NFL quarterback and win multiple super bowls. No one thought he could do it because of his height, but he didn’t listen to them and became a quarterback first for the Wisconsin Badgers and now for Seattle Seahawks and won one Super Bowl so far.  I have his poster on my wall that says “Dream Big. Work hard”.

Leonardo Da Vinci had a lot of wild ideas. One was about a helicopter. He drew it out and knew that he could make it happen if he could find a way to make the blades spin fast enough. Over four hundred years later, people finally built an engine that could spin things fast enough to make it get off the ground and fly, but it wouldn’t have happened without his and other peoples wild dreams.

Gene Kranz is an engineer who had a wild and crazy dream about going to the moon when he was a kid. He was born way back in 1933. He and hundreds, or thousands, or maybe even 10,000 people had to work hard on this dream to make it happen. First people had to design rockets, modules, space suits, space food, oxygen tanks, heat shields, and more, and a million things had to go right before they got to the moon in 1969. He also believed he could get the Apollo 13 people back home safe in 1970 and it happened. I wrote him a letter and he wrote back, telling me to work hard and never give up.

I have some wild dreams. One of them is that if we want to know what the lottery numbers are we could just call and ask and they would give us the numbers! But I had some wild dreams that maybe someday could happen. Like one time I dreamed I could cure cancer. The doctors tried some ideas on my classmate’s sister and none of them have worked to cure her yet. Maybe you could take a virus and put cancer medicine in it and tell the virus to go infect the cancer cells. Or maybe you could make a virus that only kills cancer cells and not the rest of your cells? How would you test something like that on living people, though? Maybe somehow repair the mistake in the DNA that causes the cancer. They did that with cystic fibrosis and it seems to be working for those people, so why not for cancers? Maybe someone will figure out a new idea to cure my classmate’s sister. if not, maybe their idea will cure someone else eventually.

Another time, I had this wild idea that if we built cities with tunnels that people drive through, the pollution would get stuck in there and wouldn’t escape out into the air. I’m not sure exactly how that would work, but I think there should be better ways to keep pollution from getting into the air, and it might be easier to trap pollution than to build cars and other things that don’t make any pollution. Maybe someday someone will figure out how to do it. Maybe someday I will discover a way.

A lot of wild ideas won’t work immediately, and sometimes not ever, but you won’t know which ones will succeed unless you keep trying and trying, even when it doesn’t work. So, next time you hear someone say, “Never in my wildest dreams,” you should say, “You could actually do almost anything if you work at it. You don’t have to have wild dreams but then wild things are less likely to happen to you. Dream big! Wild dreams are awesome!”

Wild
By Isaac Rosen
Third Grade, View Ridge Elementary School

Animals romp
Tall towering trees
Endless green grasslands
Nests of striped bees
Not a person in sight
For miles around
Unknown creatures wait to be found

2 Responses to “Announcing the WITS ‘Wild’ Contest Winners!”

  1. Reblogged this on Rachel Kessler and commented:
    So PROUD of my student Lily Williams at Washington Middle School – opening for Cheryl Strayed!

  2. I am very impressed with all of them. Very good for children that young.

Leave a Reply

